Obama declares major disaster in NYC, Long Island - Dallas News | myFOXdfw.com

NJ added to federal funding list following Sandy

Posted: Updated:
Seaside Heights, N.J., photo by Dan Bowens Seaside Heights, N.J., photo by Dan Bowens

New Jersey will receive federal funding for recovery efforts following Hurricane Sandy.

President Barack Obama had declared a major disaster in New York and Long Island.

On Tuesday, Obama signed the declaration for New Jersey and covered Atlantic, Cape May, Essex, Hudson, Middlesex, Monmouth, Ocean and Union counties.

The declaration clears the way to making federal funds available to people affected by the storm.

Assistance can also include grants for temporary housing and home repairs.

Money is also available to government agencies within the declaration zone.

The areas declared major disasters bore the brunt of the sea surge from a superstorm that hit the East Coast on Monday.

The National Hurricane Center said that as of 5 a.m. Tuesday, the storm was moving westward across Pennsylvania and was centered about 90 miles west of Philadelphia.

It lost its hurricane status on Monday and is now considered an extratropical cyclone.

It is expected to move into western New York on Tuesday night and move into Canada on Wednesday.

Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by WorldNow

400 N. Griffin Street
Dallas, Texas 75202

Main Station Directory:
(214) 720-4444
News Fax:
(214) 720-3263 or (214) 720-3333

Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices